Confessions Of A Writer…

I’ve been tagged..!

The wonderful novelist, tweeter, blogger and all round force of nature Annelisa Christensen has tagged me to respond to a list of questions re; The Writers Life.

The originator of this tag is Nicolette Elzie at A Little Bookish, A Little Writerly.

Here goes… (quick sip of tea and I’ll be ready.)

When did you first start writing? Was being a writer something you always aspired to be?

I started writing poetry in my teens, joined a band, began to write songs, then when I hit the big FOUR ZERO I started my novel. If I live until 80 I’ll officially state this period as my mid life crisis. The ship coursing its way to the rocks…

What genre do you write?

Middle Grade Fiction. Fantasy, quest based novels for adolescents and childlike adults.

Can you tell us a little about your current work in progress? When did you start working on this project?

I’m currently editing my first novel ‘Nancy Bo & Ergonwold’s Nest.’

It’s about a 12 year old girl who has been dragged from her urban life (London) to live in the countryside. Nancy hates her new life and resents her parents for never explaining why they actually moved.

On the last day of term Nancy’s science teacher encourages her to visit ‘The Home For The Incurably Curious.’ Reluctantly, she finds her way to the secret dwelling and discovers a magic book (The First Book Of Cosmo.)

The First Book Of Cosmo leads Nancy and her gang into a magical world where thoughts and feelings are reflected back at them. A strange spiritual beast (Ergonwold) befriends them and their quest begins…

The evil Zaoc has stolen something, and his machinery is poisoning the atmosphere. 

Nancy’s only hope of returning home is to find a precious stone and Ergonwold’s maternal nest.

Cover

What was your first piece that you can remember writing? What was it about?

I can vaguely remember writing a short story about a dog escaping from Battersea Dogs Home and falling in love with a Cat. I think that’s my sense of non-conformity rearing its ugly head.

What’s the best part about writing?

The creative process. The sheer wonder of bringing a bunch of characters to life and that point where your story yanks at your inner-psyche and forces you to punch the air like a mad man.

What’s the worst part of writing?

Easy. Editing, the finite definition can be found in the dictionary under ‘Pulling teeth with rusty pliers.’

teeth pull

What’s the name of your favourite character and why?

‘Inglethwip Limpweed.’ Need I say more?

How much time a day/week do you get to write? When is the best time for you to write (morning or night?)

Like most writers it’s a constant battle with that dreaded commodity known as time.

And that horrible thing called guilt.

Balancing work, family, writing and life can be a real drag. I’ve been lucky to have an understanding partner, although it can be hard for a non-creative person to understand the demons of the creative mind.

I love writing in the mornings after running through the forest.

Mother nature always comes up trumps!

Did you go to college for writing?

No.

And I flunked school BIG TIME. My love was Music and Drama. I got zero support or encouragement.

I left school with nothing other than a leaflet from the careers officer and a ‘Dunce Hat.’

dunce

What bothers you more: Spelling errors, punctuation errors or grammar errors?

None. See answer to last question. I’m shit at them all. I fumble through and correct as much as I possibly can prior to proofing.

What is the best writing advice that anyone has given you?

Read loads and think of each individual scene you write as a movie then describe it to the best of your ability.

What advice would you give to another writer?

Be disciplined and crave as much feedback as possible. Thick skin is a must have. 

What are your favourite writing sites or blogs that you turn to for help, tips or encouragement?

I like ‘The Creative Penn’, ‘Rachelle Gardner’ and ‘Script Alchemy.’

Besides writing, what else do you enjoy doing? What are your hobbies?

Surprise, surprise… I love reading.

I’m also recording an album. I have a deep seated love of music.

What’s the best book you’ve read this year?

Matt Haig’s ‘Reasons To Stay Alive.’ Magnificent.

RTSA

What’s the best movie you’ve seen this year?

The Imitation Game.

What is your favourite book or series of all time?

The Mariah Mundi trilogy.

Mariah Mundi

Who is your favourite author?

G P Taylor.

What are your plans for the rest of the year in terms of your writing?

I’m aiming to finish my editing this year. My day job, Christmas and family may have a say in this too..!

Where else can we find you online?

Twitter @paul_scales

offcentreblog.wordpress.com

3 thoughts on “Confessions Of A Writer…

  1. Inglethwip Limpweed

    You forgot to mention you also sing your songs, and they’re really good! 🙂

    Thank you for answering these questions, Paul…it’s good to know more about you! I think, one day, you’ll learn to embrace editing as a positive process, where you get to take control of everything between the front & back covers…it allows you to act as a deity, master of your world 😀

    I’ve never read Mariah Mundi before, and will definitely look it up.

    Also, I take my hat (dunce or not) off to you for persevering with your book. You’re so close to the finish line now!

    Like

  2. Paul, I loved reading your confessions! This made me smile, I felt like you were talking right to me, so much of what you said (okay, everything you said) resonates with me and I couldn’t agree more, Inglethwip Limpweed would be my favorite character too if I were any good at coming up with awesome names! Thanks for being a part of the tag!

    Like

Leave a comment